IS MY DATA BACKUP SECURE?
A: Yes! Your data is fully 128-bit encrypted
(using the user defined key unique to you) before being
uploaded which is also sent to our back up servers over
an SSL connection. So your files are encrypted and then
these encrypted files are in turn sent over an encrypted
connection so the whole process is VERY secure!
Your data is also kept secure and confidential whilst in
storage (even to the system administrator) as your password
is one way encrypted and this is used to generate the
encryption key which is also stored on your local machine
rather than on the back up server so the security is very
high. Note: If you forget your password you will not be
able to restore your data) so it is important to pick one
that you will remember.
However you can increase the security even further
(if you wish) as you do not have to use the default encryption
method you can instead select the custom option and have
full control over the encryption method you require.
Our datacentre (and our secondary location) also has
full security in place. The data centre is also our own
so we are not dependant on 3rd parties.
ARE ALL MY FILES BACKED UP EACH TIME?
A: The software is smart enough to update
only the portions of the files you change so new files will
be uploaded complete and existing files if they have been
changed will be updated by sending just the changes within
the file. For example if you have a 50MB word document and
only change a few words, only a small portion of the document
will need to be sent to the back up server.
ARE MY FILES COMPRESSED BEFORE BEING UPLOADED?
A: Average compression ratio for text-based
files is around 4:1. However, no further compression can
be made on files that are already in a compressed format
(eg JPG, ZIP). In general you can assume a 2:1 compression
ratio for an average cross section of files.
WHAT IS THE PURPOSE OF THE RETENTION AREA?
A: Deleted and modified files in the current
back up are moved to the retention area and they will stay
there as defined by the retention policy set in your local
software for this back up set. Files stored in the retention
area can also be restored but note that these also count
to your quota.
The default setting for the retention
area is 7 days, however this can be reduced to one backup
if required or increased to 365 days.
HOW MUCH SPACE DO I NEED?
A: Although the data is compressed the
system has a retention setting (as per FAQ above)which means
that deleted and past versions of files are stored for the
period set up in your retention setting (the default is
7 days). The amount of files that change or are deleted
will vary from one company to the next but as rough guide
we would recommend starting with 25% more space than the
amount you have to back up.
CAN I UPGRADE MY PLAN ONCE I HAVE SIGNED UP?
A: Yes once you have signed up you can
purchase a different plan (then immediately delete the old
plan) and we will update your existing plan for you this
normally takes a few minutes but please allow up to 24 hours
as a maximum. If you only need a little more space you can
also increase your existing plan in 1GB units at the same
rate as your current plan which can be ordered via your
CAN I BACK UP OPEN FILES?
A: Windows XP/Vista and Linux/Unix/Mac
can all support this. If you use Windows 98, NT, ME, or
2000 you will need to use a 3rd party tool (like www.stbernard.com)
to allow open files to be backed up (or you will need to
perform your back up when files are not open if possible)
However some application data can be backed up whilst
in use. For example special agents for MS Exchange, MS SQL
Server, Oracle, Lotus Notes and MYSQL allow the data from
these applications to be backed up while they are online
WHAT ARE 'Off-LIne backup' 'Logout backup reminder' and
'Local backup' FEATURES?
Offline backup - Designed for notebook
users who cannot rely on a regular back up schedule.
The can set an schedule and if this has elapsed back up
will run automatically once the machine is online.
Offline backup - Prompts
for back up if they logout or shut down the computer.
Local back up- This allows
an extra copy of the back up file to be kept on a local
hard disk when running backup.
WHAT IF I HAVE A VERY LARGE VOLUME OF DATA TO BACK UP?
A: As only the changes within
the files are sent to the back up server it is possible
to back up much more data in total than your internet connection
is capable of uploading within a reasonable time. This is
fine once the data is uploaded but may be a problem when
you upload for the first time.
If this is the case we would recommend that you consider
backing up to a disk or hard drive the first time only and
sending this to us if the file size is large compared to
your connection speed. The alternative is that you do not
select everything at once and slowly increase the amount
you back up. But note that the data is compressed before
being uploaded so a 100MB file will not be as large when
it is uploaded any way.
The set up charge for manually doing this is calculated
as the same as the monthly fee. For example 15GB would be
The following is a rough guide for the maximum we would
recommend uploading initially direct via the internet rather
than using our software to create the first back up locally
and sending this to us.
CAN I INSTALL THE SOFTWARE ON ONE MACHINE AND BACK UP SHARED
DRIVES FROM OTHER MACHINES?
A: Although the software is capable of
doing this due to the additional potential problems relating
to permissions between the machines this would be unsupported
by ourselves but you are welcome to use the software
in this way if you wish.
The correct way to back up additional workstations or servers
is to purchase additional back up accounts and run these
on each additional workstation/server/laptop.
modem - 56k
|Broadband up to 2MB/s)
- Upstream 256kbps
|Broadband MAX (ie 8MB/s
) - Upstream 400kbps
|Broadband MAX- 800kbps
- Upstream 800kbps
|2MB leased line - -
HOW DO I RE-INSTALL?
A: If you need to re-install as a new account
here for a guide.
Note if you run a pop up blocker you
may need to disable it to view this file.
VISTA - BACKING UP OUTLOOK?
A: the default location for the current
client (126.96.36.199) is :
This is a junction link from original location and
Vista handles this differently from other OS so please use
the following format to backup Outlook instead.